Books and Books of Odds and Ends

I’ve become aware that I have a weird need to record and organize everything I think about, and everything that I encounter in life ok. Weird things too.

I just had the idea to write a book called “A Book of Encounters”. Where I record the names of people I’ve met, how I met them, and my thoughts and first impressions about them, and where our friendship is now. Is that weird or what? Like, I just want to have a big book of encounters that I’ve recorded. That’s weird.

Also, I just want to have a book I carry around with me so I can record all my thoughts throughout the day. Like, EVERY thought.

And I want to have a book about stranger’s faces. Because I’ve become aware that when I’m walking around or sitting somewhere, or maybe even talking to someone I’ve just met, I’ll pay strange attention to their individual features, and then look at their face as a whole, and then look at their individual features again. And I want to draw them and put them in a book. I’m a weird person.

I also want to keep a record of more personal things, I won’t mention here because it’s just part of my life and it’d be weird to share. But its about keeping people in memory and just- I don’t know.

I have a fascination with wanting to have books and books of just thoughts and observations throughout my life. Of people, of emotions, of body language, of encounters, of art. Of everything and anything. It just seems so interesting to me that I can record all this now and look back on it. I want to remember the people in my life, I want to remember feelings and emotions and faces.

I don’t know if this is just a weird thing or what the heck it is. But it makes me stressed out sometimes because there’s so many thoughts and things I want to record but I don’t know where to start or if I could actually do it. But it gives me anxiety because everything is so disorganized. I need everything in books. MUST. BE. ORGANIZED. MUST. RECORD.

Gosh I’m odd xx

11 thoughts on “Books and Books of Odds and Ends

  1. Odd and weird are beautiful features of people and reading this i say you not alone and thing weird is wonderful and the beauty of photography is that everything is capture in one image eg u look at it u instantly remember who what where when or why n if u dont get a polaroid n write on the bak of it every thing that u thought n their names n put that in a beautiful book of pictures words n emotions that arise from rereading your book of weird

  2. a book of encounters is a beautiful idea. i might think about that one. to carry around a small book all the time and whenever i have a little chat with a stranger and we both a little time on our hands, i could ask him to add some words or maybe a drawing to a page. sounds splendid. i would not want to write it myself.

  3. I think that is a great idea! I pick out individual features then view them as a whole, as well. I don’t think you’re odd at all, that’s cool that you thought to do that. I might give that a try some day(:

    1. Thats really cool that you do the same thing, I didnt know other people did that!! And that there would be people that didnt think my ideas were odd, but in fact interesting. Hahah I didnt expect that. Thanks for you kind comments xx

  4. I don’t think it’s weird at all to have books about thoughts and observations… :)
    Maybe we are both weird as I (try to) do the same thing…
    I feel sooo related to this post! ;)

    1. thinking of doing weird things to do is a great start the hardest part in life is the doing them. As for the books idea it works great! I have journal for my encounters with people and situations that aren’t everyday occurrences. I keep a log of dreams that I’ve had in order to remember them and to interpret what I might feel but not consciously notice. I write down ridiculous plans and thoughts in a marble note book to let my creative animal out but to also capture it.

      I don’t know how many amazing thoughts I’ve let slip me by because I didn’t write them down. DON’T WAIT!! Start writing things down you will grow and learn more about the world and yourself far more than you could imagine.

      Good luck and really like the blog!

Hi there wonderful, leave a reply here

